Miguel Fuster has taken the first stage win on the 52nd Rally Princesa de Asturias. The competition has begun on the 13.1 kilometre Llanera section to 1/AutoCenter Principado, that will be used for a second run at 18:19. Fuster has stopped the clock on 8:23:20 with Iván Ares in second just five tenths behind. The stage was viewed by a substantial number of spectators.

Classified first in the European group has been the Asturian pilot Jonathan Pérez at the wheel of his R5 Fiesta, who completed the13.1 kilometres in 8:31:90. Next was Francisco Cima in his Clio R.S. R3T, who did a time of 8:43:90.

In this opening section the first retirements have taken place, Both Gorka Antxustegi, in the National group, and the Portuguese Joao Ribeiro, in the European, left the road. This first day, Friday, consists of three timed sections (Llanera, Oviedo and Riosa). The teams in the European and the National classes will run twice on each stage for a total of six stages, followed by an intermediate regrouping in Riosa. The Independent teams will only make one run on each stage for a total of three timed stages.

Download the press release in pdf format