Fuster has stepped on the accelerator and opened out a gap on his main rivals. The Alicante driver has taken the fastest time on the third stage (Riosa 1) and is now 14:90 seconds ahead of Iván Ares, his main competitor in this running of the Rally Princesa de Asturias, and he is now leading the National classification by fifteen seconds. Fuster has completed the 19.370 kilometres of the stage an average of 84 kph, two kilometres per hour faster than Ares, who has had a small contact with a crash barrier. In third position, on Riosa 1 and also in the Overall Classification, is Sergio Vallejo. The Porsche 997 GT3 Cup cars have a clean sweep of the podium so far.

Jonathan Pérez consolidates his lead in the European class, at the end of the first three timed sections. He has won all three with Fran Cima, taking the second fastest times on all the special stages. In the Overall Classification Jonathan Pérez has an elapsed time of 29:45:80 and Fran Cima, 30:32:60. After the Asturian drivers, in third place, is Rashid Al Ketbi at the wheel of a R5 Fiesta with a time of 31:08:00.

The drivers of the Regional class have completed the three first sections and returned to the parc ferme until tomorrow. After running the Llanera, Plainsman, Oviedo and Riosa stages, the general classification is headed by Jonathan Alvarez and Juan Manuel Bravo, with a BMW m3 E30. They are chased by Roberto Ferrero and Faustino Fernandez, in a BMW 325i who are ten seconds behind. Classified third currently are Iván Alvarez and Víctor Valdés, with an Ibiza Cupra, at 26:20 seconds behind the leader. Jose Maria Castro, who won the first two sages, could not finish the third.

In the various “Cups” Cesar Palacio leads the Suzuki Swift Cup; Cristian Garcia heads Mitsubishi Evo Cup; in the Dacia Sandero section at the front is Rubén Gomez; and Fran Cima has the fastest time of the Clios.

The Safety Caravan for the 52nd running of the Rally Princesa de Asturias has commented on the large number of spectators on the three special stages run so far and has confirmed their behaviour as exemplary. The organisers wants to thank all of the fans for their collaboration today.

Download the press release in pdf format